old gm building
Bartleby the Scrivener vegan27
Previous Entry Share Next Entry
another airbnb post!
I finally compiled all of my 2013 financial paperwork for tax purposes. I discovered that money from Airbnb.com made up 18% of my gross income--and that's with splitting the January-August money 55/45 with Joe for managing the space. I haven't exactly had fun with the extra income--so far it's been used to pay off credit card debt, property taxes, and some funeral expenses. I also just bought an external hard drive and backed up my computer for the first time in my life.

Now that that is all taken care of, I might start to be able to have "fun" with the Airbnb income (home improvement counts as "fun") between now and the end of May, when Sarah moves in and I stop renting rooms on that site. We will keep one of the guest rooms intact. Friends of Sarah's are supposed to visit in the summer, Giulia mentioned a possible August stay, and I've invited Liz to visit when the Frida Kahlo/Diego Rivera exhibit comes to the DIA a year from now (March 15 – July 12, 2015!). Plus I need a place for friends to crash after drinking too much at one of my crazy parties.

I'm kind of looking forward to stepping out of Airbnb. I'd consider it again if I had a duplex or an upper flat, but sharing a home can be awkward. It's a little cramped at the moment, because I have long-term guests in both rooms at the same time, which hasn't happened before. One of those rooms is occupied by a husband and wife who aren't travelers or researchers from a foreign country, but just locals who wanted a cheap place to stay while their home is being worked on. They're very nice people, but it's not the usual exciting kind of Airbnb experience.

Anyway, after the techno festival, it will be just me, Sarah, one dog, two cats, and one turtle, the way it was meant to be. But just to squeeze a few extra dollars out of my house, I'm listing my own bedroom at an inflated price on the weekend of the techno fest only: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/2528729

?

Log in

No account? Create an account